Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools


You are here: Home / Stockholm 2011 / Participants


This Symposium gathered some 50 of the world’s most renowned thinkers and experts on global sustainability to discuss new and innovative approaches to the way we govern the world’s social and ecological systems.


See list of all the Nobel Laureates that have signed the Stockhlom Memorandum

Executive Steering Group

Scientific Committee


Peter C. Agre

Awarded the 2003 Nobel Prize in Chemistry jointly with Roderick MacKinnon for structural and mechanistic studies of ion channels and for the discovery of water channels proteins.

Werner Arber

Awarded the Nobel Prize in Medicine/Physiology in 1978 for the discovery of restriction enzymes and their application to problems of molecular genetics.

Tariq Banuri

Director UN Division for Sustainable Development.

Scott Barrett

Professor of Natural Resources, Columbia University.

Hans Martin Blix

Swedish Diplomat (former President of the International Atomic Energy Agency).

Andreas Carlgren

Swedish Minister for the Environment.

Paul J. Crutzen

Awarded the Nobel prize in Chemistry 1995 for his work on atmospheric chemistry, particularly concerning the formation and decomposition of ozone.

Gretchen Daily

Professor Stanford University (biodiversity).

Peter C. Doherty

Awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1996 jointly with Rolf M. Zinkernagel for their discoveries concerning the specificity of the cell mediated immune defence.

Carl Folke

Chair of the Symposium Scientific Committee, Professor in Natural Resource Management, and Director of Beijer International Institute for Ecological Economics and Science Director at Stockholm Resilience Centre.

Murray Gell-Mann

Awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics 1969 for his contributions and discoveries concerning the classification of elementary particles and their interactions.

Nadine Gordimer

Awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature 1991 because "her magnificent epic writing has - in the words of Alfred Nobel - been of very great benefit to humanity".

David J. Gross

Awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2004 jointly with H. David Politzer and Frank Wilczek "for the discovery of asymptotic freedom in the theory of the strong interaction".

Peter Grünberg

Awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2007 together with Albert Fert for the discovery of Giant Magnetoresistance.

Yolanda Kakabadse

President of WWF International.

Ashok Khosla

President of the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) and Chairman of the Development Alternatives Group and President.

Richard J.T. Klein

Senior research fellow at the Stockholm Environment Institute and adjunct professor at the Centre for Climate Science and Policy Research of Linköping University.

Mattias Klum

Photographer and film producer in natural history and cultural subjects.

Walter Kohn

Awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1998 "for his development of the density-functional theory" together with John A. Pople "for his development of computational methods in quantum chemistry".

Harold Kroto

Awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1996 together with Robert F. Curl Jr., and Richard E. Smalley "for their discovery of fullerenes".

Director, School of Human Evolution and Social Change and Dean, School of Sustainability, Arizona State University.

Christine Loh

Chief Executive Officer of Civic Exchange.

Bonnie McCay

Professor at Rutgers University (governance and resource management).

Jacqueline McGlade

Professor University College, London and Director of the European Environment Agency.

James Mirrlees

Awarded the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic sciences 1996 along with William Vickrey, for his work on information asymmetry as it relates to taxation and moral hazard problems.

Mario J. Molina

Awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1995 jointly with Paul J. Crutzen and F. Sherwood Rowland for their work in atmospheric chemistry, particularly concerning the formation and decomposition of ozone.

Sunita Narain

Director General, Centre for Science and Environment (India)

Staffan Normark

Permanent Secretary, The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

Douglass C. North

Awarded the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel in 1993 jointly with Robert W. Fogel "for having renewed research in economic history by applying economic theory and quantitative methods in order to explain economic and institutional change"

Douglas Osheroff

Awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics 1996 jointly with David M. Lee and Robert C. Richardson "for their discovery of superfluidity in helium-3".

Elinor Ostrom

Awarded The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2009 "for her analysis of economic governance, especially the commons".

Stephen Polasky

Professor Environmental Economics, University of Michigan.

Stefan Rahmstorf

Professor of Physics of the Oceans, Potsdam University.

V. Ramanathan

Director, Center for Clouds, Chemistry and Climate, University of California.

Martin Rees

Former President, The Royal Society and observer to the Symposium Executive Steering Group.

Katherine Richardson

Professor Biological Oceanography, University of Copenhagen.

Johan Rockström

Chair of the Symposium, Professor in Natural Resource Management, Executive Director, Stockholm Resilience Centre and Stockholm Environment Institute.

Carlo Rubbia

rubbia-thumbAwarded the Nobel Prize in Physics 1984 together with Simon van der Meer for work leading to the discovery of the W and Z particles at CERN.

Penny D. Sackett

Physicist, astronomer and former Chief Scientist for Australia.

Marten Scheffer

Professor in Aquatic Ecology and Water Quality Management, Wageningen University.

John Schellnhuber

Director, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research

Amartya Sen

Awarded The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 1998 was awarded to Amartya Sen "for his contributions to welfare economics".

Leena Srivastava

Executive Director of The Energy and Resource Institute, TERI.

Will Steffen

Professor and Director Climate Change Institute, Australian National University.

Nicholas Stern

Professor of Economics and Government at the London School of Economics.

Pavan Sukhdev

Yale University, UNEP's Green Economy Initiative.

John Sulston

Awarded the 2002 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine "for discoveries concerning 'genetic regulation of organ development and programmed cell death".

Brian Walker

Chair of the Resilience Alliance.

Geoffrey West

British Theoretical Physicist (metabolic theory of ecology).

Frances Westley

Professor of Social Sciences and the J.W. McConnell Chair of Social Innovation at the University of Waterloo, Canada.

Anders Wijkman

Former EU parliamentarian, Associate Senior Fellow, Stockholm Environment Institute.

Gunnar Öquist

Professor of Plant Physiology, Umeå University, Sweden