Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools


You are here: Home / London 2009 / Participants


Dr Tariq Banuri Director, Division for Sustainable Development, United Nations
Prof Nigel Brandon, FREng Director, Energy Futures Lab, Imperial College London
Dr Simon Buckle, CMG Director, Climate Policy, Grantham Institute, Imperial College London
Secretary Steven Chu Secretary of Energy, US Department of Energy
Mrs Polly Courtice, LVO Director, University of Cambridge Programme for Sustainability Leadership
Prof Ottmar Edenhofer Co-Chair of Working Group III of the IPCC, Deputy Director and Chief Economist of PIK
Prof Richard Ernst ETH Zürich
Dr Martin Frick Global Humanitarian Forum
Sir Richard Friend, FRS Cavendish Professor of Physics, University of Cambridge
Lord Anthony Giddens Member, House of Lords
Mr David Gordon-Macleod Global Project Manager, Foreign & Commonwealth Office
Prof David Gross Director and Frederick Gluck Professor of Theoretical Physics
Michael Grubb Chief Economist, the Carbon Trust
Prof Mohamed Hassan Executive Director, Academy of Sciences for the Developing World and President, African Academy of Sciences
Prof Sir Brian Hoskins Director, Grantham Institute for Climate Change
Sir John Houghton President, John Ray Initiative
Tony Juniper Senior Associate, CPSL and Special Advisor, PRP
Lise Kingo Executive Vice President, Novo Nordisk AS
Dr Walter Kohn Research Professor of Physics and Chemistry
Dr Jules Kortenhorst Chief Executive Officer, European Climate Foundation
Dr Martin Kremer First Counsellor, Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany
Sir Harold Kroto Professor, Florida State University
Prof Klaus Lackner Ewing-Worzel Professor of Geophysics, Earth Institute at Columbia University
Prof Yuan Tseh Lee President Emeritus and Distinguished Research Fellow
Prof Wolfgang Lucht Chair, PIK Research Domain II: Climate Impacts and Vulnerabilities, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research
Prof Wangari Maathai Founder, Green Belt Movement, Kenya Office
Prof David MacKay Professor of Natural Philosophy, University of Cambridge
Prof Yadvinder Malhi Professor of Ecosystem Science, University of Oxford
Prof Eric Maskin Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton
Prof James McCarthy Professor, Harvard University
Dr Malte Meinhausen Senior Researcher, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research
Prof Dr Dirk Messner Director, German Development Institute
Dr Bert Metz Fellow, European Climate Foundation
Prof Dr Meyer-Krahmer State Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education and Research, Germany
Prof James Mirrlees Professor-at-Large, Chinese University of Hong Kong
Andrew Mitchell Founder & Director, Global Canopy Programme
Prof Mario Molina President, Mario Molina Center for Strategic Studies in Energy and the Environment, Mexico City
Prof Dr Nebojsa Nakicenovic Deputy Director, IIASA and University Professor of Energy Economics, TU Vienna
Prof Douglas Osheroff Professor of Physics, Stanford University
Dr Michael Otto Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Otto Group, Hamburg
Dr Rajendra Pachauri Chairman, IPCC; Director-General, TERI
Dr Mike Peirce Deputy Director, University of Cambridge Programme for Sustainability Leadership; Project Director, St. James’s Palace Nobel Laureate Symposium
Prof Edmund Phelps McVickar Professor of Political Economy, Columbia University
Prof John Polanyi, FRS University of Toronto
Jonathon Porritt, CBE Chairman of UK Sustainable Development Commission
Prof Chris Rapley, CBE Director, Science Museum
Baron Rees of Ludlow, OM, PRS Professor of Cosmology and Astrophysics, University of Cambridge
Prof Burton Richter Senior Fellow, Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies, Stanford University
Prof Johan Rockström Executive Director, Stockholm Environment Institute and Stockholm Resilience Centre
Prof F Sherwood Rowland Professor of Chemistry, University of California
Prof Carlo Rubbia Senior Scientist and Special Advisor, CERN, European Center for Particle Physics
Prof Simon Schama Professor of History & Art History, Columbia University
Prof Tom Schelling Distinguished University Professor Emeritus, University of Maryland, Department of Economics and School of Public Policy
Prof Hans Joachim Schellnhuber, CBE Director, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research
Prof Wole Soyinka Emeritus Fellow, Black Mountian Institute, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Prof Jack Steinberger CERN, European Center for Particle Physics
Lord Nicholas Stern IG Patel Professor of Economics and Government, London School of Economics & Political Science
Dame Barbara Stocking Chief Executive, Oxfam GB
Prof Robert Watson, CMG Chief Science Advisor, Defra