Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools


You are here: Home / London 2009 / Conclusions


From 26–28 May 2009, Nobel Laureates from across the disciplines were joined by world experts in climate change to discuss the connections between global warming and other urgent environmental, economic and development challenges facing our world.

The Symposium concluded with a Memorandum that was signed by Literature Laureate Wole Soyinka and Peace Laureate Wangari Maathai, as well as by Laureates in Chemistry, Physics and Economics.

Since the Symposium, many other Nobel Laureates with Prizes have supported this initiative, including many scientists and economists and three recent winners of the Nobel Peace Prize: Dr Mohamed ElBaradei, Mikhail Gorbachev, and His Holiness the Dalai Lama, and three winners of the Nobel Prize in Literature: John Coetzee, Nadine Gordimer and Doris Lessing.

St. James's Palace Memorandum (English)
>> download Text version

St. James's Palace Memorandum (German)
>> download Text version

List of Supporters

Press Release - 10th Nov 2009 - Nobel Laureates call on world leaders for robust climate change deal